The Madonna Effect

 

Good things happen in my life whenever I go back to reading Madonna’s biography.

It immediately infuses me with drive and fearlesness, and things always go better when I’m feeling restless like that.  I admire her determination to get whatever she wants and above all, her unapologetic demeanor. So reading just about three pages of her book is so powerful that I feel even my posture’s different afterwards.

But nothing’s quite powerful as going blonde.

I’ve wanted to go platinum for several years now. I’ve never been afraid of extreme looks, I’m quite eccentric even, and I started dying my hair red when I was 13 (thanks, mom). When I hit 16 I finally put my mind in its right place and went natural, I’m lucky enough to have a great light brown hair color that has always been a great backdrop for whatever clothes I wanted to wear – gold lamé, black vinyl, you name it. But the platinum idea was always on the back of my head and the fear of not being able to go back to my natural color always has always kept me away me from the peroxide.

But boredom can be magical. As we girls know, there’s nothing like a change in your look to lift our spirits (maybe 50% off at the shoes department at Barneys) and I knew there was no going back this time. Thus, I can say, blondes do have more fun! Man, what magical powers does a head of platinum hair have.

The most fun I had at first was with myself – just like when I read Madonna’s book, my demeanor has changed. I’m a gazillion times more feminine, fragile, even. My voice must have changed a bit too, and after watching How To Marry a Millionaire, I feel cute and ditzy when I act stupid, not dumb, as when I was a brunette.

Let’s say the most fun I had later was with others.

People ask me how long will I keep this look, I don’t know. I truly feel like a blonde now, even though I know I’m such a brunette at heart. But being the girl all brunettes love to hate’s being too much fun to quit…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

